A Tribute: Shake Ya Body

It’s come to my attention that some of you have not paid tribute to the one of the greatest music videos and songs of all time.  Well, we here at Class & Trash will not stand for any slander nor any shade for the iconic and legendary Shake Ya Body by Tyra Banks.  Let’s talk about it.

We start the video with Tyra and Jay Manuel freaking out in the dressing room.  Her long curly blond wig shaking.  We catch April, Yoanna, and Sara strutting on the runway before Tyra RIPS OFF HER WIG in frustration to reveal bright red cornrows.  The drama.  The acting.  You can’t take it.

We get to the pre-chorus is a bop.

Let me see you! Take it slow.
Move your body! Let me know.
Let me see you! Lose control.
Leave it up to me to take control of ya!

bodyrollpoint

 

So let me see what you’re working with! Yeah.
I need to see if you move like this. Yeah.
And if you can’t keep up with me, I’ll.  Yeah.
Cuz when it comes to this, I don’t! Play-ahh!

marydance

Yes!  All types of yes.  At this point, you should be bopping your shoulders and flipping your imaginary wig.  The chorus is catchy and you’re dancing in your chair.

The moans with the “Come on, baby!” snatch.

We then get to the second verse & chorus where we get to see Tyra serve you choreography.  Model sexy choreography.  And pop and pop, arm and arm.  Booty shiggle!  We also know that these sensual moves were courtesy of Tony from the episode who gave us the best dance-off ever.

And then Tyra’s iconic microphone lick!  Yes. Yes. Yes.

So then we move to the bridge, which it seriously amazing.  The beat cools down and Tyra’s doing her ad-lib thang over the lyrics wearing a bikini that’s basically a cargo net.  She’s wet and grinding up on the man-candy in the video.

Let me say this
Your body’s callin’ me
I can hear it speak (WOO!)
So let me please you
Just grab my hips real tight
And enjoy the ride
It’s up to you
To make me feel the heat
And let me know if you can keep up with me

The woo is perfect.  PERFECT I TELL YOU!

And then the beat drops and we get the “SHAKE IT, SHAKE IT, SHAKE IT, SHAKE IT! OOHOHOHHHHH…” which is flawless.

alexdance

At this point, you’ve lost yourself to the song.  You’re popping and twerking and getting right!

But then! Camille, Mercedes, and Shandi close us out with the fabulous choreo by dropping it to the floor and serving you hoes.

And just in case you forgot the greatness that is Yoanna filming her dance sequence.

Yes!  The arms.  The shimmy.  The splat!

beylaugh

I also didn’t want you to forget Camille’s “talk to the hand” choreography.

I can not let you leave with Mercedes’ forgetting the choreography.

And lastly, April’s herky jerky dancing greatness with Janice’s comments.

Listen, this song is life changing.  The episode is brilliant.  The video is fabulous.

Don’t you ever come for it again!  Share your favorite Shake Ya Body memory or get blocked.

One comment

  1. The body-ody Ms Banks is serving in this video is premo. Back when she still looked like a legit model…*sigh* oh 2004 has it really been that long?? The rest of this, I’m gonna have to say is messy. That’s right. MESSY. I know it was 2004 and a lot was going on. I mean if j-lo can do it then anybody ca, right? Wrong. J-lo can actually dance, boo. This song and video literally took all the dance/pop/r&b hoes from the moment, put them in a mixer, added a lil vodka, shook it up real well and pretended it was a new drink that we were all going to live for. No. Not original. Bland. Uninspiring. Not to mention very whorish (that mic lick?) And don’t get me wrong I live for being slutty…but you can catch Ms Banks multiple times over the years telling aspiring models not to be hooch. Girl bye. I do this video in the shower/getting ready everyday. If someone had multiple camera angles in my bathroom, I brought over some of my dance challenged girlfrans, and they let me borrow that AMAZING (see I can be nice) orange wig from the intro, I could serve you the same video. Breathy vocals and all. Thank you Tyra Banks SO much for giving up on the singing career. This song/video was more than enough. Plus it was way more fun to watch you go crazy bitch on all of us on your talk show. Stay blessed 😀

Leave a Reply

