Quickie Post: Blood Orange

Not the fruit, y’all.

But I’ve been recently listening to Cupid Deluxe album by Blood Orange.  He was one of the primary producers on Solange’s EP True, which I adore.  It’s very late 80’s synth pop interpreted for the current age.  If you like minimalism in your music, sparse harmonies, funky bass grooves and metaphors in your music, I think that you will enjoy the album.  It is a full experience where hooks and choruses are referenced in multiple songs to fit the theme of love, heartbreak, and dealing with self worth.

I’m embedding the full album for you all to enjoy before I talk about my favorite song.

So I absolutely adore all of the songs with the exception of High Street, but Chamakay is the stand out track for me.  I think that the production of the track conveys the separation and melancholy perfectly.  The uses of echos and having both the male and female voice personalizes the song in a way I’m not sure could be captured another way.

The song is direct but there is just enough mystery to the lyrics.  Absolutely adore this.  Here are the lyrics and take a listen.

Let me know what your favorite track is.

Chamakay

If giving left me lonely
If giving was my friend
I’m keeping all the old themes
I’m keeping my loose ends

But now you’re feeling empty
I tried my best last time
I’ll leave you with your feelings
I’ll leave you in your lies

I’m nothing without subtle
Heartache at its best
Are you the one who breaks my
Heart out of my chest

[Chorus x2]

I’ll never leave you if you’re think that it’s all the same
I’ll never trust you if you’re think that it’s just a game
I see you waiting for a guy/girl like me to come along
Baby girl you’re wrong

If giving left me lonely
If giving was my friend
I’m keeping all the old themes
I’m keeping my loose ends

But now you’re feeling empty
I tried my best last time
I’ll leave you with your feelings
I’ll leave you in your lies

[Chorus x2]

Leave a Reply

