Trashy Thursday: Mexican Rappers

What time is it? It’s Trashy Time!

What time is it? Trashy Thursday time!

So we’ve been neglecting that some of the greatest and most hilarious hoodrat tunes come from our friends down south!  I have to rectify this as we can not live in a world where you are not leaning like a cholo.

1) Lean Like  A Cholo – Down AKA Kilo

Elbows up, side to side!

Now this song was a hit for several reasons.  We were all about leaning in the last decade.  We leaned back and we leaned and rocked with it.  Down AKA Kilo capitalized on that trend with his iconic bop.  He gives you the dance moves, reminds of you Big Pun if you squint and don’t listen to his rapping.  He is pretty much perfect.

2) Cyclone – Baby Bash

Now, who remembers the Baby and the Bash??  His first hit was “Suga Suga” but I absolutely hate that song with all that is within me.  Pretty much any song with him and Frankie J was a flop for me.  But then he hooked up with human voicebox T-Pain and created something that we can all bodyroll to!

3) Bring Out The Freak In You – L’il Rob

Another song that I found via B.Scott back in the days where he was still battling with his Ethiopian neighbors.  I love this song. It’s complete filth and makes no bones about it.  L’il Rob is trying to get it in and we just have to deal!  He’s probably my favorite of all the rappers on this list.  He even has a pleasant love song to counteract the trashy goodness of this one.

4) I’m In Love With Your Sister – Chingo Bling

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaass!!! While this is a parody of I’m In Love With A Stripper by the legendary T-Pain, it still stands as a hilarious and trashy piece of music.

5) Bass Down Low – Dev

YES! So I didn’t know Dev was Mexican, but now that I do, it’s time to pay homage.  I remember jamming to Booty Bounce while Dev stood around in an array of hideous outfits.  I remember being pissed that “Like A G6” was a hit because I liked the original song better.

But this is my jiggety jam!  It’s such a simple, dumb song, but I can’t resist bopping to it.

So who are some of your favorite Mexican or Mexican-American rappers?? Did I miss any iconic bops?  Let us know in the comments!

One comment

Leave a Reply

