Who Am I?

Hi Again.  It’s just me.

So in the past few weeks, I’ve been doing my best to take a deep look at who I am and what makes me tick? But because I’m not so great at talking to myself about myself, I’ve enlisted the aid of quite a few personality tests via the interwebs.  I think my favorite that I’ve taken is this one:

http://www.personaldna.com/tests.php

I thought it would be fun to share a bit of my results and see how accurate it is.

You are an advocating artist.

  • Your appreciation of beauty, ability to think abstractly, and innovativeness make you an ARTIST.
  • Never one to be tied to a particular way of doing things, you let your imagination guide you in discovering different possibilities.
  • You would rather seek out new experiences than stick to your everyday habits, taking in as much of the world as possible.
  • Your eye for beauty and your willingness to consider different perspectives make your creative efforts interesting—even though you may not realize this yourself.
  • You prefer to think about things before voicing your opinion, considering a wide, diverse range of options.
  • While there are forms and styles that you prefer, you tend to keep an open mind when it comes to your artistic preferences.
  • You are curious about things, interested in the “why” more than the “how.”
  • You have an active imagination that leads you express yourself in a distinct way.
  • You’re not one to force your positions on a group, and you tend to be fair in evaluating different options.
  • You tend to do things on the spur of the moment, not sticking to a set schedule.
  • You have a strong sense of style and value your personal presentation – friends may even seek your style advice from time to time.
  • You believe that things happen for a reason, and that many things are not under our control

In a way, I believe that this is the gist of who I am.  I didn’t realize it would be called an “artist” (my lack of talent in those areas probably hold me back).

That said, I do think that I have a definite style (however bland it may be) and I definitely do think that most things happen for a reason.  I try my best to be fair and objective, which usually comes from my desire to keep the peace.

I also have no concept of a schedule unless I really have someone to impress.

The quiz suggests the following:

  • Be more open to risks in your creative efforts, and don’t be quick to dismiss the praise of others.
  • Think about how attention to detail may help you be more sure of yourself.

Absolutely correct.  I am so bad at accepting compliments.  I do believe that my life would be improved by slowing down and truly considering my decisions before running into them.

You are advocating.

  • Being social, empathic, and understanding makes you ADVOCATING.
  • Some people find being around others exhausting—but not you! You are energized by spending time with friends, and you are good at meeting new people.
  • One of the reasons you enjoy conversation as much as you do is that you often learn about yourself while talking things out with a friend; you realize things about your own beliefs while discussing them with others.
  • You have insight into what others are thinking and feeling. This ability allows you to be happy for others, and to commiserate when something has gone wrong for them.
  • You are highly compassionate, and being conscious of how things affect those close to you leaves you cautious about trusting others too hastily.
  • Despite these reservations, you are open-minded when it comes to your worldview; you don’t look to impose your ways on others.
  • Your sensitivity towards others’ plights contributes to an understanding—both intellectual and emotional—of many different perspectives.
  • As someone who understands the complexities of the world around you, you are reluctant to pass judgments.

I do think that this is true, despite that my friends would not call me nice or compassionate.  I do have a sharp tongue and struggle to mince words when something bothers me.  That said, I do take people’s feelings seriously and I want what’s best for them.  I want to listen to what they are going through and be of any assistance that I can be.  I do try to step outside my personal bias as well because I think that is what a real friend would do.

That said, I love being social but I do value my alone time.  Believe that!

Advice here is:

  • While it’s important to think about others, don’t forget to take some time for yourself, and occassionally to put yourself first.
  • Take some time to spend with a few close friends; although it’s difficult to find people to trust, it’s worth the effort.
  • When you have great ideas, it can be hard to relinquish control, but it can also feel good to take the pressure off and enjoy someone else leading the way.

I do need to make sure that I put myself first in certain situations.  I tend to bend over backwards for people who may not have earned it or even deserve it.  I’m working on that now.

I haven’t had a great idea in a while so we’ll see how that works out.

And this is my personal map and a list of personality traits:

Confidence

LowHigh
4
Openness

LowHigh
62
Extroversion

LowHigh
62
Empathy

LowHigh
74
Trust in others

LowHigh
34
Agency

LowHigh
0
Masculinity

LowHigh
24
Femininity

LowHigh
24
Spontaneity

LowHigh
78
Attention to style

LowHigh
96
Authoritarianism

LowHigh
30
Earthy/Imaginative

ImaginativeEarthy
34
Aesthetic/Functional

FunctionalAesthetic
72

Not too shabby.  My confidence is definitely not great although I do my best to fake the funk until I start to believe it.  I definitely feel a little superficial looking at this, which isn’t too far off.

What do you all think?  Granted, my posts are rarely personal but do you get this from the things I write?  I’m going to take this and try to work on myself.  Take the quiz and feel free to share your results!

Don’t forget to follow us over on the Twitter at @ClassNTrashShow!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

