Step It Up, Parents

Hi Everyone.

I want you to know that Team Trash doesn’t like your kids.

Are they cute?  Sure.

Do they make me smile?  Absolutely.

But I don’t like them.  Don’t leave them with me.

But this post is about your kids.  I recently spent time with my niece and nephew going through their school work.  And it was eye-opening to say the least.

Parents. We have to stop coddling our children.

Let’s break this down.

School gets progressively harder.  All students learn differently.

Hold your children accountable. 

You need to make sure that your child is learning the material and putting in the necessary work to do well.

You need to check their notebooks and folders to make sure they are doing their homework.

You have to ask them about what they are working on.

You need to work with their teachers so that you are an informed parent.

Having taken these steps, you can then start having your children take more ownership.  I know that I was sick of my aunt asking what I learned today, so I told her without being asked.  I hated having to explain every bad grade, so I made sure they didn’t happen.

Teach your children that life is hard.  They can’t cry all the time.  Whining and giving up are not going to fix the situation.  Kids need to know that putting in the hard work early pays in dividends later on in life.  Kids need to have the ability to problem solve.

You can’t force teachers to give them good grades.  Even if the teacher is bad at their job, your child is already in their class.  Don’t let them give up.  Don’t feed their temper tantrums.  Hard work is necessary and is a lesson every person needs to know.

People not teaching this lesson is why young adults think they “deserve” special treatment at work.  Avoiding this lesson blocks them from developing healthy coping skills that you are going to need.

STOP BABYING THEM AND MAKE THEM SWEAT GAHT, DAMMIT!

Sheldon-ThrowsPapers

Okay, I’ve calmed down.

Like I said, I worked with my niece and nephew.  They are both smart kids who are completely capable.  But they are both struggling to deal with the hard work that comes with subjects that don’t come naturally to them.  I found myself in the tough position where I had to be nurturing while being straight up.

So that’s the long and short of it.  Have you run into this in your interactions with kids these days?  Am I being too hard on this generation?  Let me know in the comments.

 

 

Leave a Reply

