Trash Travels: My Night with The Read

So this past Tuesday night, I got the chance to attend The Read’s 1-Year Anniversary Show in New York with friend of the blog, Brash!

photo 4

Needless to say, it was amazing. For those of you who don’t know, The Read is a podcast featuring Kid Fury and Crissle, two friends who are fantastically smart and witty who discuss celebrity news, take letters from their readers, and then read whatever is annoying them that week.

It’s a fantastic show that allows you to lose yourself for an hour and just laugh. If you haven’t listened, just here…go laugh.

I got to New York about two hours before the start of the show and made my way to the venue (after stuffing my face).  I got there a little early and got in line because seats were first come, first serve.  It was great to see the line form for the event though this annoying boy and his baggy leather pants needed to shut up. 

This was my first chance to see the show live after jealously hearing about it all year. So Dustin introduced our hosts after a fly playlist and dance off.

photo 5

Cue a little dance from Fury.  Some of my favorite lines from last night include the following:

“She doesn’t even get eye boogers. They are like crystals!” -Crissle on Lupita N’yongo

“I was inspired by Ellen, so here is one bag of the Purple Doritos” -Kid Fury being gracious

“Da Brat needs a limited edition strap.” -Crissle on Da Brat

“I can offer her a Netflix password.” -Kid Fury on being in this situation

“Nene’s teeth look like 30 iPad minis.” -Kid Fury on the DWTS cast

“Cabbagepoochie” – Kid Fury on Chris Brown’s girlfriend/ex/boothang

“DON’T DO THIS BLACK PEOPLE!” -Crissle on the audience reaction

“You’re far outside your business.” -Kid Fury

But the best revelation of the evening was that Kid Fury loves Cookout.  Being North Carolina born and bred, Cookout is a treasure to me.  The many late night meals and deliciousness that I’ve enjoyed from that establishment.

cookout_tray

As I was writing this, Class and I just reminisced about ordering a Big Double Burger Cheddar Style.    Ugh..college was great.

Also, Crissle’s story about the lacefront eyebrows???  I cackled.  It was too much.

But anyway, I really enjoyed my time.  I thought that the Read really translated to the live format and both hosts were a delight.  There was room to sit and the venue was comfortable.  If they come to your city, I’d highly suggest going to see them.

Have a great day and give the show a listen!

Leave a Reply

