Lauryn Hill STILL Rules The World

First. HAPPY FRIDAY! We all made it through another long week. TURN UP my friends!

Second, if for some reason you don’t know who Lauryn Hill is or you don’t know about Sister Act 2, you have homework to do. Sister Act 2 was THAT movie back in the day and still SLAYS. I don’t want to talk about the fact that it came out in 1993 (Dear Lord I’m old).  It was and is a PERFECT damn movie from beginning to end.  Here’s one of several flawless moments…

::dies laughing:: Never gets old….

This movie gave us a killer rendition of “His Eye is on The Sparrow” (Shout to Tanya Blount on that harmony tho!), “Joyful Joyful”, AND Ms. Lauryn Hill emerged to kill the scene. Her voice is out of this world extraordinary. No one compares. She sang her heart out in “Killing Me Softly” with The Fugees; so much so that it is the only version of that song that exists (No shade Roberta Flack). Then in 1998 she dropped a once in a lifetime album. “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill” . This album STILL is relevant and perfect album. An album in which I revisit regularly. Ex-Factor? Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You? Tell Him? TELL HIM?!?!?!??! The album is just ***FLAWLESS!

tumblr_mo5rfjxMek1qz80pso1_400

 

Woo now that I got that out of the way….. I think we know what happens next in her life….

The moral of the story is before I went to sleep last night I said, “I wonder if she’s been performing lately.” I jumped on YouTube. And y’all. She’s back. Her voice in this Stevie Wonder cover of “I Never Dreamed You’d Leave in Summer” gave me chills all over. GET INTO IT.

She also performed “Final Hour” and I got my entire life. Sounds NOTHING like the album version. She’s out here snatching wigs. Get READY!

MUSIC. MUSIC!!!!!! THIS is the quality of music that we should be expecting form our artists. No one is making GOOD music like this on the regular anymore.

“No one makes albums anymore.” ~ Beyonce

We’ve grown to comfortable with “pop music” and quick hits. We miss you Ms. Lauryn Hill. We miss music with a message. While Beyonce BETTER win all of the Grammys next year….I won’t be mad if Lauryn sneaks up with a new album and takes a couple. She deserves it.

Can we also note how GORGEOUS she is? When she hits you with that smile at the end? Stunning. We LOVE you Ms. Hill!!!!

 

Ok I’m out y’all.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-1093-1355426175-3

Leave a Reply

